Welcome! We notice you're using an outdated browser, which will result in a degraded experience on this site. Please consider a modern, fully supported browser.

webbureaucrat

The articles are just window-dressing for code snippets I want to keep.

Tracking COVID-19 Vaccinations in Chicago: Release Notes

Happy New Year, and thank you for reading! I am delighted to announce that the City of Chicago has started reporting daily statistics on COVID-19 vaccinations, and so am I. This article will detail recent changes as well as changes to come in the near future.

New tab added to display vaccination data

Right now, the new tab for displaying vaccination data is already in production at https://chicagotestout.gitlab.io/ with some basic information. Right now I'm charting the total vaccinations given out per day but displaying more detailed information on the table below.

At the time of this post, it looks like Chicago is administering about 3,000 vaccinations per day, all of them first vaccinations (meaning no one in the city so far has received a complete two-dose vaccination series).

I've written previously on the importance of citing official sources. It is my intention that all of the data on the vaccinations tab will come from this city vaccination data set.

Future plans include more detailed charting and useful data columns

Eventually, someone somewhere in the city will get their second vaccination, and I'll be able to meaningfully differentiate between first vaccinations and total vaccinations in my vaccination chart. I intend to have a three line chart containing the volume of first vaccines, final vaccines, and the total per day.

I don't plan on reporting the raw volume of Chicagoans cumulatively vaccinated because I don't find that number particularly interesting, but I will add a new chart for percent of Chicagoans cumulatively vaccinated because I think that's a more useful metric.

Perhaps more importantly, the city is graciously providing columns indicating the percent of each demographic group that has been vaccinated, including how many Chicagoans have been vaccinated by age group. I am not displaying this data right now but intend to add those columns in the coming days and weeks.

Happy Reading!

I started writing this site early last year to channel my fears and feel informed and empowered in these dark times. For the first time in a long time, my site is reporting some unmitigated good news, so I hope I can share. Stay safe and God bless!

I write to learn, so I welcome your constructive criticism. Report issues on GitLab.

← Home